Push for premium NH milk is on
Click here to view this article at the source publication
Encouraged by consumers’ reported willingness to pay more, struggling dairy farmers are renewing pleas to major retailers to sell New Hampshire milk so they can cash in on a new state program.
Under a bill passed last year and signed into law by Gov. Chris Sununu in August, specially labeled milk can be sold at a 50-cent per gallon premium. New Hampshire farmers would receive 43 cents of that.
A change.org petition with more than 3,000 signatures and a 2018 University of New Hampshire study showing most people would pay 50 cents more for local milk are being used to goad industry leaders and retail giants into going along.